Coron 2012

El Compass Travel and Tours

I saw their post in Sulit.com.ph and inquired how much would the package cost. They asked me for a deposit but I was hesitant because we think it’s very risky; it’s been raining hard in Metro Manila weeks before our Coron trip (monsoon rains flooded the metro) plus I haven’t read good reviews yet of the said tour operator. On the day of our flight to Coron, I’m still looking for a cheap package tour but couldn’t find a good deal. That’s when I remembered I have El Compass’ contact info in my phonebook. I asked if they could offer me the same rate they quoted me just 3 weeks prior and they said OK. The package we agreed on includes 3 nights at Darayonan Lodge, visit to Mt. Tapyas and Maquinit Hot Spring, Coron Island Tours, and Malcapuya-Banana-Bolog Island Tours. Lunch is included on the island tours. The cost?… Sorry I can’t remember but I believe it’s very reasonable.

Website: http://www.elcompasstravelandtours.com

I am very satisfied with El Compass’s service. We had no problem dealing with them.

El Compass would pick us up with this rickshaw

Darayonan Lodge

I must admit that this is not my first choice. There are better-looking and new places to stay in Coron but for our purposes, this is an OK place. They have a swimming pool and an in-house restaurant. It’s along the main road so transport won’t be a problem.

Darayonan’s swimming pool

Darayonan’s restaurant

Coron Loop Tour

There’s various named used for this packaged tour  but ours have the following stops: Siete Pecados, Kayangan Lake, Banol Beach, and CYC Beach. I didn’t have an underwater camera back then so if you have one, please bring it with you. It would make the trip more memorable. In my opinion, Kayangan Lake is the standout in this tour. It’s more fun swimming here because the water is not too salty. I would like to go back. Here’s some photos from this tour:

View from the top

View from the top

View from the top 2

Banol Beach

We saw a whale shark on the way to CYC beach

CYC Beach

Mt. Tapyas and Maquinit Hot Spring

Going up and down Mt. Tapyas is really tiring. Expect your lower extremities  to hurt after the climb. Don’t worry though, soaking in the waters of Maquinit Hotspring would help soothe the pain away (though it won’t make it magically disappear). The hot spring is on the outskirts of Coron town. You can take a rickshaw from the foot of Mt. Tapyas to go to the hot spring.

Still a long way to the top

Almost there

Mt. Tapyas Giant Cross

Summit view

Maquinit Hotspring

Maquinit Hot Spring

Malcapuya, Banana, and Bolog Islands Tour

These islands are far away from the main islands. It takes about an hour and half to reach them. Good weather is a must for you to be permitted to go there. Don’t try your luck if it’s raining already.

Malcapuya cliff

Bolog Dos Island

Bolog Dos Island

Where did we eat?

For breakfast, we mainly ate at Darayonan’s restaurant

Centro Coron for 1st dinner, located along the main road

Forgot the name of the place!

Banana foster (forgot the name of the place :()

Lunch prepared by our boatmen

Centro Coron again for our 3rd dinner

Leave a Reply

